• 9

    Mathilde Jonquière mosaics are freed from their prior allocations - decorate, embellish, — to explore further a new territory of creation. She inscribes poetry in this conglomerate of material, enchanting concrete.

  • 10

    For several years nows, Mathilde Jonquière has her heart set on concrete. Revolutionising the academic canons of her carft, she bypasses the usual settings by playing with mat and shiny, fade and colorful, empty and full.

  • 6

    She invades the gap, the distance, the in-between colourless and downgraded to glorify what is happening there. She alters her use of concrete : by reaffirming its organic nature, instead of granting it a simple functionnal use, -a support, or a base-, and frees it to an artistic extent.

  • 8

    Her look is fixed upon this space, on which her hand will act : the cement joining elements altogether in a composition, takes up space and encroaches on the surgace, becoming the main agent of this composition.

  • 5

    Converted to concrete, the gap occupies the space, and enters into the light.

  • 11

    Insula Gallery, exhibition "Béton perlé".

  • 12

    Insula Gallery, exhibition "Béton perlé".

• 9

    Les mosaïques de Mathilde Jonquière s’émancipe de leurs affectations premières — décorer, orner, embellir — pour défricher toujours plus avant un nouveau territoire de création. Elle inscrit la poésie dans ce conglomérat de matières, enchante le béton.

  • 10

    Depuis plusieurs années, Mathilde Jonquière fait du béton son matériau de prédilection et révolutionne les canons de l’art de la mosaïque et se joue habilement du rapport de valeur entre le mat et le brillant, le fade et le coloré, le vide et le plein.

  • 6

    Elle investit l’intervalle, l’écart, cet entre-deux terne et déclassé. Elle travaille à subvertir l’usage du béton : elle lui accorde non plus un rôle fonctionnel — socle, support, plateau — mais réaffirme sa nature vivante, multiple, s’attache à en faire une liberté.

  • 8

    C’est dans cet espace-là que se pose son regard, c’est sur ce matériau qu’intervient sa main : le ciment-joint qui liait entre eux les éléments de la composition, prend alors du volume et gagne de la surface pour devenir un agent de la composition.

  • 5

    Converti en béton, l’interstice occupe le terrain, il entre dans la lumière.

  • 11

    Galerie Insula, exposition "Béton perlé".

  • 12

    Galerie Insula, exposition "Béton perlé".